American University Academic Calendar 2023-2024

By |

American University Academic Calendar 2023-2024

American University Academic Calendar 2023-2024: The American University Academic Calendar 2023-24 Key Dates & Deadlines

The American University Academic Calendar 2023-2024 Fall, Spring Semester, Summer and Winter Session Dates & Deadline Break

The American University Academic Calendar 2023-24 consist of Fall and Spring Semesters of approximately 15 weeks each and Summer Sessions of varying length.

The last week of the fall and spring semesters is set aside for final examinations. The academic calendar for the Washington College of Law (WCL) of American University varies from this general schedule. For the full WCL academic calendar, please go to: http://www.wcl.american.edu/registrar/American University Academic Calendar 2023-2024

There are holidays and vacations that are observed by the university and are noted below. Spring break is the week following the spring semester midterm. Classes continue until 10:40 p.m. in the evening before a holiday or vacation period. The American University Academic Calendar 2023-24 Key Dates and Deadline

American University Spring Semester 2023 Calendar

  • American University Winter Welcome is from Thursday, 12 January 2023 to Sunday, 15 January 2023
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; no classes, American University offices closed on Monday, 16 January 2023
  • American University Spring semester 2023 classes begin on Tuesday, 17 January 2023
  • Last day to add a spring course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project is on Tuesday, 31 January 2023
  • American University Last day to drop a spring semester 2023 course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded is Tuesday, 31 January 2023
  • American University Spring semester 2023 withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund) on Wednesday, 1 February 2023
  • The last day to apply for American University Spring Semester Graduation 2023 is Wednesday, 1 February 2023
  • The last day to withdraw from American University Spring 2023 Semester course for a 50% refund is on Tuesday, 7 February 2023
  • Tuesday, 14 February 2023 is the Last day to withdraw from a spring course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date)
  • American University Academic alerts due in Registrar’s Office is Monday, 20 February 2023
  • American University Schedule of Classes for Summer and Fall 2023 published on Monday, 6 March 2023
  • The American University Spring break 2023; no classes, university offices open Monday through Friday are from Sunday, 12 March 2023 to Sunday, 19 March 2023
  • The Last day to withdraw from American University spring semester 2023 class or change a grade option (end of 10th week) is Friday, 24 March 2023
  • American University Summer Session 2023 registration begins on Monday, 27 March 2023
  • American University Fall priority registration 2023 for graduate students begins on Wednesday, 29 March 2023
  • American University Theses and dissertations 2023 due in deans’ offices for spring degree candidates is Friday, 31 March 2023
  • American University Fall priority registration 2023 for undergraduate students begins on Monday, 3 April 2023
  • American University Spring 2023 classes end on Monday, 1 May 2023
  • American University Theses and dissertations 2023 due in Registrar’s Office for spring degree candidates is Monday, 1 May 2023
  • American University Payment due for summer 2023 classes is Monday, 1 May 2023
  • American University Spring semester 2023 study day; no classes from Tuesday, 2 May 2023 to Wednesday, 3 May 2023
  • American University Spring Semester 2023 final examinations begin from Thursday, 4 May 2023 to Wednesday, 10 May 2023
  • American University Commencement/Graduation 2023 Weekend Activities is from Thursday, 11 May 2023 to Wednesday, 14 May 2023
  • All American University full-term spring 2023 classes final grades are due on Friday, 12 May 2023
  • American University Official Degree Award 2023 Date is Sunday, 14 May 2023

Read Also: University of Southern California Academic Calendar 2023-2024

American University Academic Calendar Summer Sessions 2023 Calendar

  • American University Payment due for summer 2023 classes is Monday, 1 May 2023
  • American University 7-week (A) and Online Learning I (E) sessions begin on Monday, 15 May 2023
  • American University First 6-week (B) and 3-week (C) sessions begin on Monday, 22 May 2023
  • The Last day to add the American University summer session 2023 internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project is Friday, 26 May 2023
  • Memorial Day; no classes, American University offices closed on Monday, 29 May 2023
  • The Last day to apply for American University Summer 2023 Graduation is Thursday, 1 June 2023
  • American University 3-week (C) Summer session 2023 ends on Saturday, 10 June 2023
  • Juneteenth; no classes, American University offices closed on Monday, 19 June 2023
  • American University 7-week (A), first 6-week (B), and Online Learning I (E) summer 2023 sessions end on Saturday, 1 July 2023
  • American University Summer Session 2023 for the Second 6-week (D) and Online Learning II (F) session begins on Monday, 3 July 2023
  • Independence Day; no classes, American University Holiday is Tuesday, 4 July 2023
  • American University Theses and dissertations 2023 due in deans’ offices for summer degree candidates is Friday, 21 July 2023
  • American University Payment due for fall classes is Tuesday, 1 August 2023
  • American University Theses and dissertations 2023 due in Registrar’s Office for summer degree candidates is Thursday, 10 August 2023
  • American University Second 6-week (D) summer session 2023 ends on Saturday, 12 August 2023
  • American University Summer 2023 Online Learning II (F) session ends on Saturday, 19 August 2023
  • The American University End of summer sessions 2023 is on Saturday, 19 August 2023
  • The American University Official Degree Award Date 2023 (the date that appears on August diplomas; no event associated with this date) is Sunday, 27 August 2023

American University Fall Semester 2023 Calendar: American University Academic Calendar 2023-24

  • The American University Payment due for fall classes 2023 is on Tuesday, 1 August 2023
  • All-American Welcome (Events begin with new student move-in and continue through the first two weeks of classes.) is from Saturday, 19 August 2023 to Sunday, 27 August 2023
  • American University Fall 2023 classes begin on Monday, 28 August 2023
  • Labor Day; no classes, American University offices closed on Monday, 4 September 2023
  • The Last day to add American University fall 2023 course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project is on Monday, 11 September 2023
  • The Last day to drop a fall course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded is on Monday, 11 September 2023
  • The American University Fall Semester 2023 withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund) on Tuesday, 12 September 2023
  • The Last day to withdraw from the American University fall 2023 course for a 50% refund is Monday, 18 September 2023
  • The Last day to withdraw from the American University fall 2023 course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date) is Monday, 25 September 2023
  • The American University Schedule of Classes for Spring 2024 published on Monday, 2 October 2023
  • The American University Academic alerts due in Registrar’s Office is Monday, 2 October 2023
  • American University (AU) Family Weekend is from Friday, 6 October 2023 to Sunday, 8 October 2023
  • The American University Fall Break 2023; no classes, university offices open on Friday, 13 October 2023
  • American University Spring 2024 priority registration for graduate students begins on Monday, 23 October 2023
  • The American University Spring 2024 priority registration for undergraduate students begins on Monday, 30 October 2023
  • The Last day to apply for American University fall Graduation 2023 is Tuesday, 31 October 2023
  • The Last day to withdraw from the American University fall 2023 course or change a grade option (end of the 10th week) is on Friday, 3 November 2023
  • The American University Theses and dissertations 2023 due in deans’ offices for fall degree candidates is Friday, 10 November 2023
  • The American University Tuesday classes are canceled; Friday classes meet on Tuesday, 21 November 2023
  • The American University Fall Semester 2023 Thanksgiving holiday; no classes; university offices closed Thursday and Friday is on Wednesday, 22 November 2023
  • American University Fall 2023 classes end. Theses and dissertations are due in Registrar’s Office for fall degree candidates on Friday, 8 December 2023
  • The American University Fall Semester 2023 Study Days is from Saturday, 9 December 2023 to Sunday, 10 December 2023
  • The American University Fall Semester 2023 final examinations are from Monday, 11 December 2023 to Saturday, 16 December 2023
  • American University Fall Semester 2023 Commencement/Graduation Ceremony for August and December graduates is Sunday, 17 December 2023
  • All the American University full-term fall 2023 classes final grades are due on Thursday, 21 December 2023
  • The American University Official Degree Award Date 2023 (the date that appears on December diplomas; no event associated with this date) is on Saturday, 23 December 2023
  • The American University Winter break 2023; university offices closed from Saturday, 23 December 2023 to Monday, 1 January 2024

See Also: UCT Online Application 2024 Opening Date

The American University Academic Calendar Spring Semester 2024: American University Academic Calendar 2023-24

  • The American University Winter 2024 Welcome is from Thursday, 11 January 2024 to Sunday, 14 January 2024
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; no classes, The American University offices closed on Monday, 15 January 2024
  • American University Spring Semester 2024 classes begin on Tuesday, 16 January 2024
  • The Last day to add a spring course, internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project is on Tuesday, 30 January 2024
  • The Last day to drop American University Spring Semester 2024 course for a 100% refund and without a “W” recorded is Tuesday, 30 January 2024
  • The American University Spring Semester 2024 withdrawal period begins (withdraw recorded on record; 50% refund) on Wednesday, 31 January 2024
  • The Last day to apply for American University Spring Graduation 2024 is Thursday, 1 February 2024
  • The American University Last day to withdraw from a spring semester 2024 course for a 50% refund is Tuesday, 6 February 2024
  • The Last day to withdraw from the American University spring semester 2024 course for a 25% refund (no refunds after this date) is Tuesday, 13 February 2024
  • The American University Academic alerts due in Registrar’s Office is on Monday, 19 February 2024
  • The American University Schedule of Classes for Summer and Fall 2024 is published on Monday, 4 March 2024
  • The American University Spring Break 2024; no classes, university offices open Monday through Friday begin on Sunday, 10 March 2024 to Sunday, 17 March 2024
  • The Last day to withdraw from American University Spring Semester 2024 class or change a grade option (end of 10th week) is Friday, 22 March 2024
  • The American University Summer 2024 registration begins on Monday, 25 March 2024
  • American University Fall semester 2024 priority registration for graduate students begins on Wednesday, 27 March 2024
  • American University Theses and dissertations 2024 due in deans’ offices for spring degree candidates is Friday, 29 March 2024
  • The American University Fall semester 2024 priority registration for undergraduate students begins on Monday, 1 April 2024
  • The American University Spring Semester 2024 classes end on Monday, 29 April 2024
  • The American University Theses and dissertations 2024 due in Registrar’s Office for spring degree candidates is Monday, 29 April 2024
  • American University Spring semester 2024 study day; no classes from Tuesday, 30 April 2024 to Wednesday, 1 May 2024
  • The American University Payment due for summer 2024 classes is Wednesday, 1 May 2024
  • American University Spring semester 2024 final examinations starts from Thursday, 2 May 2024 to Wednesday, 8 May 2024
  • All American University full-term spring semester 2024 classes final grades due is on Friday, 10 May 2024
  • The American University Spring Semester 2024 Commencement/Graduation Weekend Activities starts from Friday, 10 May 2024 to Sunday, 12 May 2024
  • The American University Official Degree Award Date for Spring Semester 2024 is Sunday, 12 May 2024

American University Academic Calendar Summer Semester 2024

  • The American University Payment due for Summer 2024 classes is Wednesday, 1 May 2024
  • The American University 7-week (A) and Online Learning I (E) Summer 2024 sessions begin Monday, 13 May 2024
  • The American University First 6-week (B) and 3-week (C) summer sessions 2024 begin Monday, 20 May 2024
  • The Last day to add a summer internship, Independent Reading or Research, or Community Service-Learning project is Friday, 24 May 2024
  • Memorial Day; no classes, The American University offices closed on Monday, 27 May 2024
  • The Last day to apply for American University Summer Graduation 2024 is Saturday, 1 June 2024
  • American University Summer 2024 3-week (C) session ends on Saturday, 8 June 2024
  • Juneteenth; no classes, university offices closed on Wednesday, 19 June 2024
  • American University Summer 2024 7-week (A), first 6-week (B), and Online Learning I (E) sessions end Saturday, 29 June 2024
  • The American University Summer 2024 Second 6-week (D) and Online Learning II (F) session begin Monday, 1 July 2024
  • Independence Day; no classes, the American University offices closed on Thursday, 4 July 2024
  • The American University Theses and dissertations 2024 Summer Semester due in deans’ offices for summer degree candidates is Friday, 19 July 2024
  • American University Payment due for fall classes 2024 is on Thursday, 1 August 2024
  • American University Theses and dissertations Summer Semester 2024 due in Registrar’s Office for summer degree candidates is on Thursday, 8 August 2024
  • The American University Summer Semester 2024 Second 6-week (D) session ends on Saturday, 10 August 2024
  • The American University Summer 2024 Online Learning II (F) session ends on Saturday, 17 August 2024
  • American University Summer sessions 2024 end on Saturday, 17 August 2024
  • The American University Official Degree Award Date for 2024 Summer semester (date that appears on August diplomas; no event associated with this date) is Sunday, 25 August 2024

OTHER RELATED LINKS:

For more details on American University Academic Calendar 2023-2024, visit https://www.american.edu/provost/registrar/academiccalendar/academic-calendar-2023-2024.cfm